2012 NPPA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda

January 21 and 22, 2012

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Convene at 9 a.m.

  1. call to order

  2. Roll call – Secretary Denise McGill – Roll call of Board of Directors and certification of the presence of a quorumBoard Introductions

    1. Seating of the Board of Directors - The following Board of Directors members, being duly elected or appointed according to the procedural outlines in the NPPA by-laws, are certified to be seated.
      • President – Sean D. Elliot
      • Vice President – Mike Borland
      • Secretary – Denise McGill
      • Treasurer – Sarah Evans
      • Immediate Past President – Bob Carey
      • Regional Chair Representative – Jim Bye
      • Director – Smiley Pool (1 year remaining in term)
      • Director – Greg Smith (1 year remaining in term)
      • Director – J. Bruce Baumann (2 years remaining in term)
      • Director – Michael King (2 years remaining in term)
      • Director – Mark Dolan (3 years remaining in term)
      • Director – Todd Maisel (3 years remaining in term)
      • Director – Tom Kennedy (Presidential appointee)
      • Director – Ron Londen (Presidential appointee)
      • Director – Melissa Lyttle (Presidential appointee)
    2. Seating of Special Guests
      1. Parliamentarian – Travis Barrick (by phone)
      2. NPPA Executive Director – Mindy Hutchison
      3. Student Delegate – Maddie McGarvey
    3. New Board Member Oath of Office - Administered by President (Dolan, Maisel)

      I do hereby pledge myself faithfully, to perform to the best of my ability, the duties of my office as prescribed in the bylaws of this association.

  3. Roll call for the recently deceased – Secretary Denise McGill

    (Everyone stands)

  4. Adoption of the Agenda

  5. Adoption of the Standing RulesElection of the Committee for Approval of the January 2012 Minutes.

    • Each of the aforementioned board members is entitled to one vote each, according to the association's by-laws except that:
    • NPPA by-laws exclude the president, the vice-president, the secretary, the treasurer, and the immediate past president from voting in the election of any member of the executive committee (president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer).
    • On all votes before the Board, the president only votes to break a tie (except elections as mentioned above).
    • The special guests shall have no vote, but may be granted the right to speak.
    • During debate, there shall be a 15-minute time limit on each item of business. A 2/3 vote shall be required for each 5-minute extension.
    • The President may create a Speakers List; once closed, a 2/3 vote is required to reopen the Speakers List. When offering your name for the Speakers List, please state whether you are speaking for or against the pending question.
    • When called to speak, please stand, identify yourself, and speak loudly and clearly. Each speaker is allowed 3 minutes; you may chose to pass your turn if you wish to speak later on the List, but may not "yield" time to another member.
    • During debate, no side conversations are permitted; please use written notes, texts or emails to communicate so that there is no disrespect of others or disruptions.
  6. Reading and approval of minutes from July 2011 Meeting

  7. President’s report/state of the NPPA

  8. Journey Group presentation – followed by “working” lunch. (2-hours total)


  1. Opening of nominations for national officer elections. (nominations will close at the end of meeting when the elections will take place. Any member of the board may place a name in consideration at any point in the meeting upon receiving recognition from the chair)

  2. Executive Director’s Report

  3. Finance Committee/ACA report, summary of f/y 2011 budget and presentation of proposed budget for f/y 2012

  4. Reports

    • News Photographer
    • Advocacy Committee
    • BOP Contest Report
    • <="" li="">


Re-convene after dinner if necessary to complete first-day business.

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Re-convene, 9 a.m.

  1. For the good of the order. Open discussion, brainstorming. No formal action.

  2. Resolution 1. Dolan. Student Delegate Franchise.

  3. Resolution 2. Maisel. Regional Chairs Rep. Proxy

  4. Resolution 3. Edelson. Award plaques.

  5. Resolution 4. King. Student chapter advisors

  6. Resolution 5. King. Officer elections

  7. Resolution 6. King. Branding.

  8. Resolution 7. King. Professional chapters.

  9. Regional and grassroots outreach.

Break for lunch?

  1. Creation of committees and task forces for 2012.

  2. Adoption of the budget for f/y 2012

  3. Election of National OfficersSwearing-in of new officers

    1. President.
    2. Vice President.
    3. Secretary.
  4. Adjourn

Document Type: