Nominations Being Accepted For NPPA's Top Awards, Honors

DURHAM, NC – The National Press Photographers Association’s Honors & Recognition Committee is accepting nominations for NPPA’s annual service awards, which will be presented in June in Portland, OR, during the Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award Banquet.

Alicia Wagner CalzadaNPPA past president Alicia Wagner Calzada, the chairperson of the Honors & Recognition Committee, said nominations for NPPA’s top awards and honors are being accepted online from now until March 15, 2007. “You can read about the awards and link to the online nomination form,” Calzada said, “and if you would like to see a list of past winners you can click on the award name, and a description will appear along with a list of the past winners.”

Among NPPA's top annual awards are the Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award (one to a photographer, one to a non-photographer); the Clifton Edom Award; the Joseph Costa Award; the Jim Gordon Editor of the Year Award; the Robin F. Garland Educator Award; and many others.

After the nomination period closes on March 15, the honorees will be picked by the committee, which includes past presidents Calzada, Clyde Mueller of the Santa Fe New Mexican, and Steve Sweitzer of WISH-TV in Indianapolis, IN. The winners will be announced at the Sprague Banquet during the NPPA Photojournalism Summit in Portland, OR, on June 2, 2007.

“Please take a few minutes to nominate a deserving colleague and support the tradition of honoring those who have served their profession,” Calzada said.

Joseph A. SpragueNPPA’s highest photojournalism honor is the Sprague Award. It was established in 1949 to honor Joseph A. Sprague, who died in 1947. He was a press technical representative for Graflex Corp., Rochester, NY. The firm manufactured Graflex and Speed and Crown Graphic cameras and flash units. Sprague is credited with the design of the Big Bertha, Magic Eye and Combat Camera and dozens of refinements to the Speed Graphic. The honor is awarded to not more than two individuals each year and is granted only if achievement is, in the opinion of the committee, of a sufficiendly high standard.

Two Sprague Awards may be given: one to a working photojournalist who advances, elevates or attains unusual recognition for the profession of photojournalism by conduct, initiative, leadership, skill, and devotion to duty; and one to a non-photojournalist whose service or achievement beneficial to photojournalism or for an outstanding technology advance in equipment or processes of photojournalism.

A list of NPPA’s awards and honors along with a complete description of each one can be seen here, along with the past winners of each award here.

The online nomination form, which is brief and easy to complete, is here.

For more information contact Calzada at [email protected].