University Of Missouri Names Michael Macor, Marcus Bleasdale, POYi Photographers Of The Year

COLUMBIA, MO. - Photojournalist Michael Macor of The San Francisco Chronicle has been named Newspaper Photographer of the Year in the University of Missouri School of Journalism's 62nd Annual Pictures of the Year International competition in Columbia, MO. The runners-up for Newspaper POY were David Joles of The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel and Rick Loomis of the Los Angeles Times. Awards of Excellence went to Sylwia Kapuscinski of the Detroit Free Press and to Rick Gershon, who was also this year's College Photographer of the Year top winner.

London-based photojournalist Marcus Bleasdale, who just last week won the 2005 Alexia Foundation Grant for professionals, was named the POYi Magazine Photographer of the Year. Runners-up were freelancer Ami Vitale and Jan Grarup from Denmark.

The Los Angeles Times won the Angus McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Award for the second year in a row, and The Palm Beach Post won Best Use Of Photography honors for newspapers circulating over 100,000. The Albuquerque Tribune won Best Use for papers less than 100,000. Best Use Of Photographs in a magazine was awarded to Sports Illustrated.

Photojournalist Seamus Murphy of London won the World Understanding Award, and Carolyn Drake won the Community Awareness Award. Francine Orr of the Los Angeles Times and freelancer Janet Jarman received Judges' Special Recognition Awards.

Best Use Of Multimedia top honors went to The New York Times Digital for "Photography on NYTimes: 2004" in the Large Media category, and to Western Kentucky University for "Mountain Workshops: Lebanon, Kentucky" in the Small Media category.

A full list of winners by category is available online at