NPPA's 60th Anniversary Photo Summit Looks At Past, Future


TAMPA BAY, FL – Educational programs, workshops, portfolio critiques, a “shoot-out” contest, the Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award's dinner, and demonstrations of old photography gear and exploding flash powder guns were just some of the highlights this weekend at the National Press Photographers Association’s 60th Anniversary Photojournalism Summit at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Tampa Bay, FL. Speakers and seminars for print and television and new media journalists followed the theme of "See The Future, And Learn How To Get There" and they focused on the finer details of storytelling, lighting, ethics, multimedia, and storytelling on the Web.

Joe Young's flash powderOn Thursday, the NPPA board of directors elected Tony Overman of The Olympian in Olympia, WA, as the new president and Scott Utterback of WAVE-TV in Louisville,KY, as vice president. During the board’s two-day annual business meeting they passed a $1,531,339 (USD) budget for fiscal year 2006-2007 that includes a $20 annual dues increase.

On Saturday night, NPPA's annual top honors and awards were presented at the 60th Anniversary Photojournalism Summit dinner. Read all about the award winners, including the Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award winners Robert Brandon and Clyde Mueller, in a story here.

The NPPA’s 60th Anniversary Photojournalism Summit in Tampa Bay is sponsored by Canon and Avid.

On Friday, some of the main presentations were by Stan Heist, the 2006 Ernie Crisp Television News Photographer of the Year, from WBFF-TV in Baltimore, MD, who showed some of his stories; the 2006 Best Of Photojournalism Photojournalist of the Year for smaller markets, Josh Meltzer of The Roanoke Times, spoke and presented his work; Richard Koci-Hernandez of the San Jose Mercury News taloked about multi-media; Al Tompkins of The Poynter Institute spoke about ethics; Ted Jackson of The Times-Picayune talked about Hurricane Katrina; and Melina Mara from The Washington Post spoke about photo columns and multi-media.

NPPA president Tony OvermanAuthor Mindy McAdams spoke and gave demonstrations about how to use the software application Flash and its use with online photography; Greg Smith spoke about photojournalism and freelance business practices; magazine photojournalist Christopher Morris of the VII Photo Agency talked about his work and presented photographs; and there was a presentation of his work by 2006 Best Of Photojournalism Television Video Editor of the Year Jason Hanson of KSTP-TV in Minneapolis.

Also on Friday, NPPA Life Member Joe Young hosted a Life Member Luncheon, and still photography and television portfolio critiques went on through the day as well.

On Saturday night at the Best Of Photojournalism 2006 Awards Banquet at the Grand Hyatt, NPPA’s highest honor – the 2006 Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award – will be presented to Bob Brandon and Clyde Mueller. Other awards and honors will be presented at the dinner, including the Joseph Costa Award and the Jim Gordon Editor of the Year Award, along with other honors and recognition. Winners in the 2006 Best Of Photojournalism contest will receive their awards for the categories of still photography, picture editing, television photography and editing, and Web presentations.

A panel discussion on The Future Of Photojournalism is scheduled for Sunday morning. Invited to appear on the panel are the president of NPPA, the president of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP), the president of Editorial Photographers, and the president of the White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA).

Read about the board meeting and the dues increase

Read NPPA past president Alicia Wagner Calzada's letter to members