Call For Entries: NPPA's 2010 Best Of Photojournalism Contest

DURHAM, NC – The entry period is now open for the National Press Photographers Association's 2010 Best Of Photojournalism contest, and the rules and categories and FTP instructions have now been posted online and the Call For Entries has gone out to the world of visual journalism.

All still and television photographers, photography editors, Web editors, and television editors are invited to take part in NPPA's Best Of Photojournalism competition, the world's second-largest photography contest. And the Best Of Photojournalism is still a free contest, and has been so since its inception.

A new category has been added to this year's contest, and it's called "Returning Veterans, Coming Home," sponsored by the Edom Foundation for Social Justice Through Photojournalism Education.

The Best Of Photojournalism contest is open for entries from now until January 29.

"Returning Veterans, Coming Home" is an open category for still photography. Conceived by Dr. Vme Edom Smith, the director of The Edom Foundation for Social Justice Through Photojournalism Education and the honorary director of the TRUTH WITH A CAMERA workshops, the new category recognizes that since October 2001 thousands of American soldiers have been deployed in war and for many, coming home has been a challenge.

"Like the Farm Security Administration pictures," Dr. Edom said, "your story should document the experiences of a returning veteran, and educate the public and contribute to recognizing the social issues affecting our returning veterans." Dr. Edom is the daughter of Clifton C. and Vilia C. Edom, founders of the Missouri Photo Workshop.

"Returning Veterans, Coming Home" entries require supporting publishing impressions that can be either Web links or Adobe .PDF files. The category is open to individual and team entries. Stories from the time period of October 11, 2001, until December 2009 are eligible. The entry can be a portfolio of up to 24 images.

Last year more than 3,700 journalists from 147 countries submitted 53,000 still images, video, and Web entries in the 2009 Best Of Photojournalism competition.

During judging in March at The Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg, FL, and at Ohio University's School of Visual Communication in Athens, OH, winners are announced each day as judges complete their categories.

Panels of judges each year select from the still photographers an NPPA Best Of Photojournalism Photojournalist of the Year (Large Markets), Photojournalist of the Year (Small Markets), Sports Photojournalist of the Year, and a winner of Cliff Edom's "New America Award." From the television entries judges pick the Ernie Crisp Television News Photographer of the Year, a top Video Editor of the Year, and a Station of the Year (in three market sizes). From the newspaper and magazine editing entries judges pick a Picture Editor of the Year (individual and team) and select publications for Best Use Of Photography honors.

Best Of Photojournalism judging at Poynter is coordinated by Thomas Kenniff, NPPA's director of sales and contests, along with Poynter's Kenny Irby and Al Tompkins. Judging at Ohio University is coordinated by OU's Stan Alost and Terry Eiler. NPPA's Best Of Photojournalism Contest Committee includes Harry Walker, Joseph Elbert, Clyde Mueller, Deanne Fitzmaurice, Merry Murray, along with Irby and Eiler. The Best Of Photojournalism Television categories are organized by Ram Guzman and Murray, and the Web categories are organized by Jack Rowland and Regina McCombs.

NPPA's 2010 Best Of Photojournalism competition is sponsored by iBiblio, Camera Bits, The St. Petersburg Times, The Poynter Institute for Media Studies, and Ohio University.

For more information about NPPA's Best Of Photojournalism contest contact Kenniff at [email protected]. For sponsorship opportunities contact NPPA executive director Jim Straight at [email protected].