Lange-Taylor Prize, 25 UNDER 25, Deadlines Approaching At Duke University's Center For Documentary Studies

DURHAM, NC - The Center for Documentary Studies at Duke University in Durham, NC, reminds photojournalists that the deadlines for their two major annual competitions are approaching: The Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize, and the 25 UNDER 25competition.

CDS will be accepting applications for the Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize, a $20,000 USD award given annually, during the month of January only, and with all required materials submitted only under one cover, up until the competition's deadline of January 31, 2006.

25 UNDER 25 logoThe deadline for the third annual 25 UNDER 25 competition, which is only held every five years, is April 28, 2006, and is for photographers who were born on or after April 28, 1981. The selected photographers and their work will be published in a book, 25 Under 25: Up-and-Coming American Photographers, and this time the competition's theme is "transitions," or what CDS says it means to be "in-between, in flux, or at odds."

The Lange-Taylor Prize is awarded to a writer and photographer who are in the early stages of a documentary project, and was created to encourage collaboration between documentary writers and photographers in the tradition of photographer Dorothea Lange and Paul Taylor, a social scientist and writer. Together they published An American Exodus in 1941, the story in words and photographs of the mass migration of agricultural workers and farmers in America in the 1930s that was caused by changes in society, the economy, and an extended drought, documenting a relationship between Americans of that era and the land.

The 2005 Lange-Taylor Prize was awarded to photographer Peter Brown and writer Kent Haruf for their project "High Plains," which they say will document "the people, land, and small towns of the High Plains: a part of the country that dips eastward from the Rockies and rolls south from Saskatchewan and Alberta to the Texas Panhandle."

The Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) guidelines prohibit individual applications as the award is intended to support collaborative efforts, but more than two people may apply as long as one of the participants is a writer and one is a photographer, and the work is being done in black and white or color still photography. Winners will be picked and notified by mid-summer 2006.

Other past winners include Keith Carter, Donna DeCesare, Luis Rodriguez, Reagan Louie, River Houston, Ernesto Bazan, Deborah Luster, Rob Amberg, C. D. Wright, Jason Eskenazi, Dona Ann McAdams, Brad Kessler, Misty Keasler, Katherine Dunn, and Jim Lommasson. Full details about the award and materials required for submitting an entry for the Lange-Taylor Prize are online here.

25 Under 25 book coverThe 25 UNDER 25 competition issues an open call for submissions and the selection process will take place during 2006 with an announcement of the winners. The book is planned for publication in 2008. Photographers who want to enter the competition must put together 25 photographs that explore the theme and submitted digitally on CD-ROM. 

The CDS says that previous winners include Alex Ambrose, Tracey Chiang, Reuben Cox, Ken Fandell, Wyatt Gallery, Eric Gottesman, Greg Halpern, Colby Katz, Misty Keasler, Kate Lacey, Carrie Levy, Thom Lussier, Malerie Marder, Brian McKee, Laurel Nakadate, Brad Richman, Andrew Rogers, Alex Tehrani, Hank Thomas, Carla Williams, and Jessica Wynne.