Nominate Industry Leaders For NPPA's Awards

ATHENS, GA (October 13, 2016) – Since the inaugural Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award was given by the National Press Photographers Association in 1949, the organization has annually recognized individuals for their special contributions to both the NPPA and the wider field of visual journalism. 

These awards represent NPPA’s efforts to honor those whose efforts make our profession stronger, build our communities, and expand the reach of NPPA in its mission to promote visual journalism and journalists. 

NPPA's 16 awards recognize individuals who contribute to the profession in a myriad of ways. They honor people who elevate photojournalism, photojournalists who have reached outstanding technical achievements, leaders who advance NPPA goals, people who fight for First Amendment freedoms, and educators who inspire. 

NPPA’s immediate past president serves as the chairman of the Honors & Recognition Committee, the group that puts out an annual call for nominations and determines each year’s honorees. This year the committee chairman is NPPA's immediate past president Mark Dolan.

Please take ten minutes to nominate a fellow NPPA member by filling our online form here. The deadline for nominations is December 5, 2016.