Rio Olympics As Seen Through the Instagram Accounts of the Pros

The Instagram of professional sports photographer Gary Hershorn, formerly of Reuters now based in New York City.
The Instagram of professional sports photographer Gary Hershorn, formerly of Reuters now based in New York City.

By Tom Burton

ATHENS, GA (August 8, 2016) - Scores of talented photographers are covering the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio and it would be difficult, if not impossible, to see all of the great work. In addition to visiting the many news sites covering the games, you can get a peek at some of their work through their Instagram accounts.

You can follow the most popular hashtags for the games, #rio2016 and #olympics, but those searches can be crowded with bad frames grabs from television or tons of selfies. To see the work of the pros, start with these accounts:

Official account of the Summer Olympics and Paralympics @rio2016

Sports Illustrated @sportsillustrated

Joe McNally, SI photographer @joemcnallyphoto

Donald Miralle, SI photographer @donaldmiralle

Getty Sports Images @gettysport

David Ramos, Getty photographer @davidramosgetty

Al Bello, Getty photographer @albello55

Elsa Garrion, Getty photographer @elsegarrison

Maria Tama, Getty photographer @mario_tama

Maddie Meyer, Getty photogapher @maddiemeyer2

Gary Hershorn, @garyhershorn

USAToday Sports Images @usatodaysportsimages

Jack Gruber for USA Today @guygruber

Eric Seals for USA Today @ericseals

New York Times @nytimessports

Chang W. Lee, NYT photographer @nytchangster

Leslye Davis, NYT photographer @leslyedavis

Reuters @reuterssport

Lucy Nicholson, Reuters photographer @lucynic

Mark Reis, Colorado Springs Gazette @mark.reis

Brain Cassella, Chicago Tibune @briancassella

David Burnett, @davidburnettfoto

Adam Pretty, @adampretty

NBC @nbcolympics

 

0