Three New NPPA Board Members Appointed

Melissa Lyttle (on left), Katie Schoolov, and Amy Kinsella Gruber have agreed to serve one-year appointed terms on NPPA's board of directors, NPPA president Mark Dolan announced today.
Melissa Lyttle (on left), Katie Schoolov, and Amy Kinsella Gruber have agreed to serve one-year appointed terms on NPPA's board of directors, NPPA president Mark Dolan announced today.

DURHAM, NC (March 10, 2014) – Three new appointed members of the National Press Photographers Association's board of directors were announced today by NPPA president Mark Dolan.

Melissa Lyttle, Amy Kinsella Gruber, and Katie Schoolov have agreed to serve one-year appointed terms on the board, Dolan said.

There are 15 members of NPPA's board of directors: six officers who make up the executive committee, six elected directors, and three appointed directors. All directors serve at-large, and thus they represent the entire NPPA membership. Elected directors serve three-year terms, while appointed directors serve at the pleasure of the president. 

Lyttle is a returning board member. She originally served on NPPA's board when appointed by Sean D. Elliot during his term as president. Lyttle replaces Des Moines Register editor and vice president Rick Green on the board.

Gruber replaces photojournalist and U.S. Air Force combat veteran Stacy Pearsall, who is at the end of her one-year appointment. Pearsall was named to the board last March by NPPA's immediate past president, Mike Borland.

Katie Schoolov was appointed to NPPA's board by Borland in January when Mark Anderson withdrew from the board due to increased work responsibilities at his Minneapolis video production firm. Today Dolan asked Schoolov to continue in her board post for a one-year appointment, and she agreed to serve. 

"I want to thank Stacy Pearsall and Rick Green for their contributions and service to NPPA," Dolan said today. "And I'm really excited to have Katie, Melissa, and Amy join us on the board. And I have encouraged each of them to run for their own elected board seats at the conclusion of their appointments."

Lyttle is a staff photojournalist for the Tampa Bay Times and she's the founder of the popular Web site "A Photo A Day" as well as Geekfest. Lyttle started "A Photo A Day" more than a decade ago when she and friend exchanged photographs, one a day, to get feedback on each other’s work. The idea expanded to an eMail listserv that has grown to more than 1,500 members. Her photography has been recognized by NPPA's Best Of Photojournalism contest, Pictures of the Year International, SPJ's Sigma Delta Chi awards, FSNE, the Atlanta Photojournalism Seminar, the Southern Short Course, UNICEP, the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism, the Alexia Foundation for World Peace and Understanding, and others. Lyttle is a frequent faculty member at the Eddie Adams Barnstorm Workshops.

Gruber is an attorney and former newspaper picture editor. After graduate studies in photojournalism at the S.I. Newhouse School for Public Communications at Syracuse University, she worked as a picture editor at the Detroit News and USA Today. An interest in copyright law led her to Golden Gate University School of Law in San Francisco, where she was the recipient of several Witkin awards and the Award of Academic Achievement in Intellectual Property. Gruber worked as an associate attorney at a medium-sized California law firm where she represented clients in business disputes as well as copyright, patent and trademark matters. She lives in Virginia with her husband and two children. 

Schoolov is a video journalist for KPBS-TV, the PBS and NPR affiliate in San Diego. She shoots and edits in-depth features for television, radio, and the Web, reporting stories on her own when time allows. She is a San Diego native and returned to cover her hometown after working as a video journalist for the Las Vegas Sun.