Santiago Lyon Replaces Gary Knight To Chair 2013 World Press

Santiago Lyon
Santiago Lyon

AMSTERDAM (January 30, 2013) – Santiago Lyon, vice president and director of photography at the Associated Press, will chair the 2013 World Press Photo Contest jury. He takes over the task from Gary Knight who is unable to join the judging due to bereavement in the family. Lyon's place in the News and Documentary jury during the first round of judging will be filled by Jocelyn Bain Hogg, UK, a photographer for the VII Photo Agency.

Michiel Munneke, managing director World Press Photo commented, "I am thankful that such experienced and valued people are part of the World Press Photo network and that they are eager to commit on such short notice. I am confident that the jury is in capable hands with Santiago Lyon at the head."

The winners of the 56th annual World Press Photo Contest will be announced on Friday, February 15, 2013. Following the announcement, the awarded photographs will be published on the World Press Web site.

The following recognized professionals will judge the contest images at the World Press Photo office in Amsterdam from February 2 through February 14:

Santiago Lyon, USA, vice president and director of photography The Associated Press

Ghaith Abdul-Ahad, Iraq, special correspondent The Guardian

Monica Allende, Spain, photo editor The Sunday Times Magazine

Jocelyn Bain Hogg, UK, photographer VII Photo Agency

Elisabeth Biondi, Germany/USA, independent curator

Jérôme Bonnet, France, photographer

Véronique de Viguerie, France, photographer Reportage by Getty Images

Rena Effendi, Azerbaijan, photographer

Bill Frakes, USA, photographer Sports Illustrated

Mayu Mohanna, Peru, photographer and curator

Riason Naidoo, South Africa, director South African National Gallery, Iziko Museums of South Africa

Anja Niedringhaus, Germany, photographer The Associated Press

Platon, UK, photographer CLM/David Maloney

Pim Ras, the Netherlands, freelance photographer Algemeen Dagblad

Barbara Stauss, Switzerland, photo director and founding member Mare magazine

Staffan Widstrand, Sweden, photographer and managing director Wild Wonders of Europe

Anne Wilkes Tucker, USA, curator photography Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Steve Winter, USA, contributing photographer National Geographic magazine

Gu Zheng, China, professor at School of Journalism, Fudan University, Shanghai



Daphné Anglès, France/USA, European photo assignments editor The New York Times

Simon Njami, Cameroon, independent curator, lecturer and art critic