Greg Smith, Sean Towle Fill NPPA Board Vacancies

Greg Smith (left) and Sean Towle join NPPA's board of directors.
Greg Smith (left) and Sean Towle join NPPA's board of directors.

DURHAM, NC (February 21, 2013) – Two photojournalists from Colorado are the newest members of NPPA's board of directors.

Greg Smith, an independent photographer based in Westcliffe, and Sean Towle, a photojournalist at KDVR-TV in Denver, have joined NPPA's board effective immediately, national secretary Michael P. King announced today.

Smith will serve the remaining two years of a term vacated by Todd Maisel, who was elected vice president at the January board meeting at NPPA's headquarters in Durham. Towle will serve the remaining one year of a term vacated by Jim Michalowski, who was elected as NPPA's treasurer.

The board seats were determined by NPPA's Bylaws. In November 2012 a board election resulted in a two-way, third-place tie between Smith and Merry Murray. Towle finished in fourth-place. The Bylaws dictate that vacancies on the board resulting from directors being elected to a national office must be filled with the runners-up from the previous election.

Murray serves as NPPA's Regional Chairs representative as well as on the NPPA's Executive Committee. She informed King this week that she intends to maintain her current roles, which then nullifies the election tie.