Welcome Veterans H.O.M.E. (Help Open More Eyes) Project

 

The Edom Foundation for Photojournalism Education initiated a project with the National Press Photographers Association, the Los Angeles Times and MediaStorm to encourage the use of pictures documenting the experiences of veterans and their families to help improve their care and support as they re-enter society.

These photographers have agreed to make their pictures available to organizations working on behalf of veterans at no cost, just credit and copyright protection. For example: “Photographer’s name, email address and Publication – Organization. Sponsored by the Welcome Veterans H.O.M.E. Project.”

A partial list of photographers participating in this VETERANS PROJECT includes:

Jim Bracciale
Jim.Bracciale@WGBH.org
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jim-bracciale/5/8ba/156
Nina Berman
info@ninaberman.com
http://www.ninaberman.com/
Andy Dunaway
andy.dunaway@yahoo.com
http://www.f8pj.com/
Andrew Lichtenstein
Drewfoto@aol.com
http://www.lichtensteinphoto.com/home.html
Erin Trieb
erin@erintrieb.com
http://www.erintrieb.com/
Laura Fong
laurafongphotography@gmail.com
http://www.laurafongphotography.com
J. Gehrz
JGehrz@startribune.com
http://www.startribune.com/bios/10644891.html
Andrew Hida
andrew@andrewhida.com
http://andrewhida.com/
M. Brunswick
MBrunswick@startribune.com
http://www.startribune.com/bios/10644526.html
Cpl. Reynaldo Leal
reyk47@msn.com
http://reynaldoleal.com/
Rick Loomis
rick.loomis@latimes.com
http://www.loomisphotography.com/
Luis Sinco
lee.sinco@latimes.com
http://mediastorm.com/contributor/luis-sinco/114
Amanda Lucier
Amanda.Lucier@pilotonline.com
http://www.amandalucierphoto.com/
Ross Taylor
Ross.Taylor@pilotonline.com
http://rosstaylor.net/
Bill Tiernan
Bill.Tiernan@pilotonline.com
http://hamptonroads.com/2008/05/bill-tiernan
Steve Earley
Steve.Earley@pilotonline.com
http://hamptonroads.com/2008/05/steve-earley
Jim Michalowski
jvmichal@pobox.com
http://www.jamesmichalowski.com/
Chip Maury
chipjump@citlink.net
http://www.navyfrogmen.com/CombatPhotographer.html
Stacy Pearsall
spearsall@f8pj.com
http://stacypearsall.photoshelter.com/
Renee Rosensteel
Renee@Rosensteel.com
http://rosensteel.com/
Craig Walker
CraigWalker@DenverPost.com
Mike Mosack
mosack@earthlink.net
http://www.michaelmosack.com

Lawrence Jackson, White House Photographer, points out that sharing documentary stories about veterans and their families “would be a tremendous aid in helping wounded soldiers know they are not alone and it gives a look into the world of disabled veterans that most people don’t know about.”

Photographers who would like to participate in this Veterans Project, or who would like to have more information can contact:

Mindy Hutchison, NPPA Executive Director